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SOCIAL WORK APPLICANT CHECKLIST 

 
Thank you for your interest in Social Work licensure in the State of Mississippi.  In order to apply 
for licensure in MS, you will need to have a bachelors or masters degree in Social Work from an 
accredited CSWE program and have a passing score on the applicable ASWB exam. It is your 
ethical responsibility to read and understand the rules and regulations regarding social workers. 
Licensure information and forms needed can be found on our website at www.swmft.ms.gov .  
Listed below are items that must be submitted to our office for your approval for licensure testing. 
 

 Request for Fingerprint Card Form - The Request must be submitted along with your initial 
application form. By state law, the Board cannot accept FBI background check results 
processed by employers or other agencies. Applicants should have their fingerprints placed 
on the fingerprint card electronically (live scan) by a local Law Enforcement Agency, 
such as a highway patrol office, local police department or sheriff’s department. 

Fingerprints can be ink rolled on to the card, but they tend to rejected by the FBI due to 
poor quality. Results are valid for 180 days from the date stamped received by the Board 
office.  

  
 Initial Application (Form 266) -Valid one year from the date stamped received by the Board 

office. Submit when you are ready to sit for the exam!!! 
 
 Initial Application Processing Fee ($25, money order or cashier’s check only)  

 
 Verification of Education Form (Form 267) Fill out the top portion, get it notarized and mail 

to registrar’s office of the college or university where you received your social work degree. 
 

 Once the above completed forms are in your application file, you will be sent an exam 
approval letter which will give you exam instructions. Please allow 2 weeks for processing. 

 
Listed below are additional items that must be submitted to our office to be reviewed by the Board 
for Social Work licensure. 

 
 Passing Score from ASWB (ASWB will forward your test score to the Board office 

Within 2 week after completing the exam. 
 
 Initial License Fee ($70.00 for bachelor level and $100.00 master’s level).Usually submitted 

after the Board receives your passing exam score. 

http://www.swmft.ms.gov/
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Dear Applicant: 

 

Some of the general requirements for social work licensure in Mississippi is a social work degree from 

a CSWE or SACS accredited program, an acceptable current criminal history record information 

check ( FBI Fingerprint), and a passing score on the appropriate Association of Social Work Boards 

(ASWB) social work exam. Additional forms are required for licensure as a LCSW and for 

Reciprocity/Endorsement.  Please see rules and regulations regarding social workers. Please complete 

the initial license application form (form 266), notarize it, and send the completed form along with the 

$25.00 application processing fee (cashier’s check or money order) to our office. You must enter 

your legal name on the application that is spelled identically to your valid, non-

expired, government issued ID (driver’s license, social security card). You must also 

complete the top portion of the verification of education form (form 267), notarize it, and send it to the 

college or university where you receive your social work degree. After they verify your degree, they 

will forward the form to our office.  

 

State law requires a criminal history record information check and a sex offender registry check for 

each applicant for licensure. The background checks must be obtained from the appropriate 

governmental authority or authorities and must be received by the Board within one-hundred eighty 

(180) days (expires in 6 months) of the completed application.   

 

Please complete a request for fingerprint card form and mail it the Board with a $50.00 money order or 

cashier’s check. A fingerprint card will be mailed to you. Please take the fingerprint card to your local 

police or sheriff department and have them to complete it for you. Mail the completed fingerprint 

card to the Board.  The Board will mail the card to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety for 

processing. Criminal violations found on the background checks may delay your licensure. The 

Board, by law, cannot accept fingerprint background checks from other employers, 

agencies, or etc. It takes four (4) to six (6) weeks for the MS Dept. of Public Safety to 

process your fingerprints. Sometimes fingerprint cards are unreadable and the 

applicant is required to complete another fingerprint card which causes additional 

delays in processing the card. 
 

Upon receiving all forms, the Board will approve you to sit for the exam and mail you an approval 

letter. ASWB no longer publishes the Candidate Handbook for mail-outs. To review examination 
instructions and download the Candidate Handbook, you must go to the follow online link: 
https://www.aswb.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/Candidate-Handbook.pdf  (Please read the Candidate 

Handbook).  The Bachelors and Masters exam is $230.00; Advanced Generalist and Clinical exam is 

$260.00.  The applicable exam fee must be paid to ASWB. 

 

 
 

http://www.aswb.org/pdfs/handbook.pdf
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Page 2 Applicant Letter 
 
 
The exam is given daily at two locations: Pearson Professional Center (Jackson), 1755 Lelia Drive, Suite 
404, Jackson, MS 39211 and Pearson Professional Center (Tupelo), 431 W. Main St., Suite 340, Tupelo, 
MS 38801. ASWB will give you more detailed information about the test locations in your area or state                 

 

If you are seeking licensure and are licensed as a social work in another state you will also go to 

www.swmft.ms.gov and download and complete an endorsement/reciprocity form in addition to the 

form 266, 267, and the request for fingerprint card form. 

 

If an applicant has met all of the general requirements stated in the state laws and the rules and 

regulations governing the licensure of social workers including an acceptable background and sex 

registry check, your application shall be presented to the Board for licensure at their regularly 

scheduled monthly meeting. After approval, the Board will request in writing that you submit your 

license fee. The license fee for LSW is $70.00 and $100.00 for LMSW and LCSW. You must pay with 

a cashier’s check or money order. 

 

A copy of the rules and regulations can be found at our website: www.swmft.ms.gov 
 
 

Sincerely, 

 
 

Billy Dilworth 

Executive Director 

 

Attached forms: Form 266, Form 267, and request for fingerprint card form 

http://www.swmft.ms.gov/
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 Initial License Application 
 ( Use for Social Work Licensure/ Student Approval to Take ASWB Examination)                      
(Please type or print in ink) 
 
Date: _____________________         (Please use legal name that is identified on your driver license or social security card)
 
Name: ______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                 (Last)                                                            (First)                                                                                       (Middle/Maiden) 
 
Mailing Address: _______________________________________________________ Telephone No.(_____)_______-____________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                           (City)                                                               (State)                                                    (Zip Code)                                       (County) 
 
Social Security Number: ------------    -                -                                            Date of Birth             -   -          -     -     
 
 
Race: ____________________  Sex:  Male            Female              U.S. Citizen:   No              Yes              Legal Alien: No           Yes   
 
Place of Employment:__________________________________________________________________________________________          
 
Public Agency             Private Agency            Title of Position: _________________________________________________________ 
 
Business Address: _________________________________________________________ Telephone No. (_____) ______-_________     
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                           (City)                                                               (State)                                                    (Zip Code)                                       (County) 
 
If upgrading, give license number:           -                          
 
1. License applying for (check one) See regulation for qualifications at each level. Social Worker (LSW)   
          Master Social Worker (LMSW)             
                            Certified Social Worker   (LCSW)   
 
2. Are you a student within fifteen (15) hours  of  graduation from a college or university 

accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) or Southern Association    No    Yes      
of  College and Schools ( SACS)?  If you are not a student, skip to question #4.  
 

3. Please have the Dean or Chair of your Social Work Department sign below to verify that you are within 
15 hours of graduation:   

____________________________________________   _______________ 
                 Dean or Social Work Chair              Date        
 
Name of  College or University: _________________________________________ 
 

4. Which social work degree do you possess : _____BSW   _____MSW   _____DSW/Ph.D.  _____ N/A ( Student)  
  
5. Is your school accredited by ______ CSWE    _______ SACS  _______ BOTH    ______ OTHER 

 
Initial License Application Processing Fee:  $25.00   (Cashier’s Check or Money Order, payable to MSBOESWMFT) 

 
(NON-REFUNDABLE ) 

For Office Use Only: 
Cashier’s Check or Money Order #: ______________  Amount: $ __________________ Date: ____________________ 
 
Name on check , if different from licensee: ______________________________________________________ 
 

(Continue on Back of  This Form) 
 



MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR SOCIAL WORKERS AND MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS 

MSBOESWMFT- FORM 266 REVISED5/28/2009 

 
 
 
6. Have you ever been licensed as a social worker in this state?    No                  Yes             
 If yes,  what was your license number: _______________________ 
 
7. Have you ever been licensed or registered as a social worker in another state?  No          Yes  
 If yes, complete the Reciprocity/Information Verification Form and send it to the state(s) 
 of previous licensure. 
 
8. Have you ever had a license or permit encumbered in any way?   No              Yes 
 If yes,  has the decree changed? Attach a full explanation. 
 
9. Has any court ever declared you mentally incompetent? If yes,    No           Yes   

attach an full explanation. 
 
10. Have you ever been convicted of any crime  or violation of law (except minor traffic  No           Yes 

violations) ? If yes, attached a full explanation. 
 
11. I have enclosed my initial license application processing fee (non-refundable) and No           Yes 
 current passport-like photo.  
 
12. I understand that  licensure as a social worker requires the following information to be 

completed and submitted to the Board for review it regularly scheduled board meeting for 
approval: Form 266, Form 267- verification of education , criminal history information 
check and passing score on the applicable ASWB examination.   No           Yes 
 

13. I understand that my application for licensure as a LSW or a LMSW shall be considered 
abandoned if the ASWB exam has not been attempted within six (6) months from the 
date on which the application was filed. An application for LCSW shall be considered  
abandoned if the ASWB exam has not been attempted within six months from the date  
on which the Board approved the termination of supervision. Any subsequent  
application shall be treated as a new application.     No           Yes  

 
 
 
                                ( Notary Seal) 
 

I, the undersigned, do hereby solemnly swear or 
affirm that I am the above applicant, and that the 
statements contained therein or accompanying this 
application are true to the best of my knowledge and 
belief. 
 
_______________________________  ___________ 
        Applicant’s Signature   Date 

 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________ day of  
 
_____________________, 20___. 

 
My commission expires on __________________________. 
 
 
_________________________________________    
                     Notary Public 
 
 
 
 
 

Complete form, make cashier’s check or money order 
payable to MSBOESWMFT and mail to: 

    
         MS Board of Examiners for SW/MFT 
         Post Office Box 4508 
         Jackson, MS 39296-4508  

 
Current 

Passport-Like Photo of 
You Facing Forward 

(Application cannot be processed without 
photo. Photocopies will not be accepted. The 
photo must be an original of you facing 
forward.)  

 
 
 



Verification Of Education For Licensure In Social Work

Instructions To Applicant:

Upon completion of the demographic information and waiver below, this form should be signed, notarized, and forwarded to the
college of university where you obtained your degree in social work.

Name (Last,First, Middle Initial)

Address(Street,City, State, and Zip Code)

Social Security Number

License Applying For (Check One):

� Social Worker � Master Social Worker

Waiver For The Release of Information:

I am applying for licensure as a social worker in the State of Mississippi. I hereby
authorize the verification of my degree conferred and further authorize the release
of any transcript or other information, favorable or otherwise, to the Mississippi
Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage and Family Therapists,
should this information be requested at any time.

Date Applicant�s Signature

Instructions to Education Institution:

Upon completion of this form please send to:

MS BOARD OF EXAMINERS
P.O. Box 4508

Jackson, MS 39296-4508

Name of Institution

Date of Attendance (Month/Year)

From: To:

Date Degree Conferred

Program Name & Curriculum Description

Maiden Name or Given Surname

Home Phone Work

(      ) (      )
Date of Graduation

� Certified Social Worker

Subscribed and sworn before me this day of 20

My commission expires

Notary Public

Seal

Location of Institution (City & State)

Total Number of Academic Years

Degree Conferred

Date o f Practicum/Internship:

From: Month Day Year

To: Month Day Year Total Hours:

Social Work Program Accreditation Undergraduate: �  CSWE �  SACS �   Other:

(On date degree conferred) Graduate: �  CSWE �  SACS �   Other:

Seal of the College or University

Registrar�s Name  (print or type)

Registrar�s Signature

Telephone Number Date

Form 267      MSBOE SW/MFT 05/08/2001
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REQUEST FOR FINGERPRINT CARD 
 

(FOR NEW APPLICANTS OR REINSTATEMENTS ONLY) 

 
 
I, _______________________________, request that a fingerprint card be sent to me at the address 

listed below for the purpose of licensure as a (please mark one) ____ social worker or ____ 

marriage and family therapist in the State of Mississippi. I have enclosed the required $50.00 

processing fee. I understand that my licensure application file is not complete until the Mississippi 

State Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage and Family Therapists has receive all 

licensure requirements and response from both the Mississippi Criminal Information Center and the 

Federal Bureau of Investigations concerning my criminal history records check via fingerprint 

records. 

 
 
Mailing Address: _________________________ 
  
    _________________________ 
 
   _________________________ 
 

Phone:  _________________________ 
 
 
I understand that it make take 4-6 weeks for my fingerprints to be processed by the MS 

Dept. of Public Safety. I understand that there may be delays in the processing of my fingerprint 
card if my fingerprints are unreadable and that will extend the processing of my background and 
sex registry check beyond 4-6 weeks. 

 
__________________________________       _______________________ 
          Signature                                                                  Date 



 
Mississippi  
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR FINGERPRINT CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK 

 
As of July1, 2011, Mississippi Statute 73-53-11 requires a fingerprint based criminal history record information 
check and a sex offender registry check for each applicant for licensure. The checks must be obtained from the 
appropriate governmental authority or authorities and must be received by the Board within one-hundred eighty (180) 
day of the completed application. The appropriate governmental authority is the Mississippi Department of Public 
Safety, Criminal Information Center (CIC) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI). 
 
As of  January 1, 2012, the Board of Examiners require that upgrading applicants ( currently licensed but are 
moving to a higher level of licensure), new applicants for licensure or applicants for reinstatement complete  
“Request for Fingerprint Card Form” that is located on the Board’s website at www.swmft.ms.gov and mail it to 
the Board’s Office The Board will charge a processing fee of $50.00 to process background checks. The fee is 
payable by money order or cashier’s check to the Mississippi Board of Examiners for SW/MFT.  
 
After receiving the applicant’s request and payment, the Board will mail you a traditional fingerprint card. Please 
follow the following instructions for completing the cards: 
 

 Applicants must have picture identification (driver’s license) with them at the time their fingerprints are taken. 
Applicants should have their fingerprints rolled or placed on the fingerprint card electronically by a local Law 
Enforcement Agency, such as a local police department or sheriff’s department. Be prepared to pay a fee for 

having the fingerprint card executed as some law enforcement agencies charge a fee.  The fingerprints must be 
taken by an appropriately trained law enforcement official. The fingerprint card must be signed by a law 
enforcement official in the appropriate block. 

 
 Additional fingerprint cards are available from the Board’s office upon request. The Board’s contact 

information is available at the top of this letter. 
 

 Fingerprint cards must be completely filled out. Required information includes: full name, social security 
number, date of birth, home address, sex, height, weight, hair color, eye color, place of birth (state or country 
only), citizenship, and reason fingerprinted. Reason fingerprinted should be pre-filled with the following 
statement: “Applicant for SW or MFT Licensure, Miss. Ann. 73-53-11”. 

 
 The fully completed card should be mailed to: Mississippi Board of Examiners for SW/MFT, P.O. Box 4508, 

Jackson, MS 39296-4508. Please do not allow the fingerprints to smudge.  
 

 The Board will mail your completed fingerprint card to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, Criminal 
Information Center. The Center shall process the fingerprint images and forward them to the FBI for 
identification through the national system. It will take four (4) to six (6) weeks for your 
criminal history record information check to be processed. The completed criminal 
history and sex offender registry checks must be received by the Board office before an individual’s 

application will be considered for licensure. 
 

 Please note that if your fingerprint card is rejected, you will be notified in writing and processing of your 
application will be delayed.  

 
The fingerprint criminal history and sex offender registry checks apply to applicants seeking licensure as a 
Licensed Social Worker  (LSW), Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW), Licensed Certified Social Worker 
(LCSW), upgrading from one level to another ( LSW to LMSW or LMSW to LCSW), Licensed Marriage 
Family Therapist Associate (LMFTA),  Licensed Marriage Family Therapist (LMFT) or applicants reinstating a 
lapsed license. 

http://www.swmft.ms.gov/
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