## Social Work FYJ Commonly Asked Questions

#### for RENEWAL and INITIAL LICENSURE

(We will continually add questions to this list in hopes that it will help you find answers to your questions without having to search the Rules and Regulations.)

### **GENERAL ~SW~ LICENSURE QUESTIONS**

- **QUESTION:** How do I complete a background check? What is the process?
- **ANSWER:** You must go to Forms  $\rightarrow$  Other Forms, and download and complete the Request for Fingerprint Card Form. Once this form is received with payment, we will mail you a fingerprint card. Detailed instructions are on the form.
- **QUESTION:** What if I completed one with my employer, can that be used instead?
- ANSWER: Pursuant to the Mississippi Statute 73-53-11, all social work and marriage & family therapy applicants are required to submit a fingerprint based criminal history record information check and a sex offender registry check with the Mississippi Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage and Family Therapists prior to licensure.

### QUESTIONS RELATED TO THE ASWB EXAM

- QUESTION: I took the ASWB Exam in March and did not pass. I know I must wait 90 days before I can retest. Do I need anything from the board to re-register for the exam after my 90 days are up?
- ANSWER: No. As long as you are within your approval year to take the exam, the only thing you need to do is go back to ASWB website and register to pay for the exam. Also, the ASWB system may not allow you to register before your 90 days are over.
- QUESTION: How can I find out when my ASWB approval will expire?
- **ANSWER:** The absolute best way is to go to ASWB website and verify the exact date in their system.
- QUESTION: I paid for my ASWB Exam (and have not taken the exam yet) but my test approval expires on \_\_\_\_\_ date. Will I have to pay for the test again and lose the money I previously paid?
- **ANSWER:** You will have to submit a new initial application to our office with the \$27 processing fee, but you will also have to contact ASWB to let them know you are

submitted to the Board a new test approval. In addition, you will have to get the application notarized and submit the photo again.

- **QUESTION:** ASWB informed me that my test approval is about to expire and to request an extension from my Board. How do I request an extension?
- **ANSWER:** You will have to submit a new initial application to our office with the \$27 processing fee. Be sure to notarize the application and attach a color photo.

# FOR OTHER QUESTIONS RELATED TO THE EXAM OR REGISTERING FOR A TEST DATE, PLEASE CONTACT ASWB AT <u>WWW.ASWB.ORG</u> OR 1-888-579-3926.

### ~~~INITIAL APPLICATION QUESTIONS~~~

- **QUESTION:** The Rules and Regulations are pretty wordy. Is there an easier way to search them?
- ANSWER: Yes it is! Did you know that with any PDF, you can hit either F3 or CTRL F. Either function will allow you to search a document using a key word such as requirements, LSW, Clinical, licensure, and etc.? Go ahead and try it! You can find the Rules and Regulations under RESOURCES.
- **QUESTION:** I am a LCSW licensed in the State of \_\_\_\_\_\_ with an opportunity to do telehealth assessments in Mississippi. Do I need a separate license for Mississippi or will you honor my current state licensure?
- **ANSWER:** In order to practice as a social worker in Mississippi, including seeing clients via telehealth, you must obtain licensure in Mississippi.
- QUESTION: Can I combine fees into one payment?
- **ANSWER:** Yes! Please do.
- QUESTION: I sent in the fingerprint card request and \$50 fee a month ago and still have not received the card. I have an extra fingerprint card that I had completed two months ago for employment. Can I send that card in?
- ANSWER: Yes. The mail has been unpredictable and slow. You can mail the card in, just make sure you have also completed the descriptive sections including your social security card, date of birth, and place of birth as these spots are often overlooked. If for any reason you cannot find that card, you can also go to your local law enforcement office and use one of theirs.

### ~~~LICENSEE RENEWAL QUESTIONS~~~

- QUESTION: I am a LMSW. This is the first time I am renewing my license at the LMSW level. I was previously licensed at the LSW level. Do I have to submit CEs for my initial renewal as a LMSW?
- ANSWER: Yes. If you are upgrading from one level to the other, although it is your first renewal at your new level, you are still required to renew with hours. No submission of CE hours are for first time ever renewals.
- **QUESTION:** I am currently in supervision towards LCSW and I just passed my test. I am supposed to renew my license at the end of the month. Do I need to renew or just wait?
- ANSWER: Regardless of what level you are, you still have a responsibility to renew your license in the year that it is up for renewal. Also, be sure to submit your CE hours as well. You are not exempt from hours because you are at a new level.
- **QUESTION:** Can I submit copies of my certificates instead of the CE Report?
- **ANSWER:** No. If you are mailing your renewal in, you must submit the CE Report. Please do not submit copies of your certificates unless you are being audited.
- QUESTION: Do I have to get the renewal form notarized?
- ANSWER: Yes.

QUESTION: How do carryover hours work?

ANSWER: Carryover hours are now referred to as Unused Hours. Here is an example of using unused hours: If you renew April 2023, your renewal window is May 1, 2021 to April 30, 2023; HOWEVER, you will be allowed to use any unused hours from May 1, 2020 to April 30, 2021. This window is called UNUSED HOURS. If you renew September 2023, your renewal window is October 1, 2021 to September 30, 2023; HOWEVER, you will be allowed to use any unused hours from October 1, 2020 to September 30, 2021. Please note two things: Ethics, Cultural Diversity, Mandated Reporting, and Clinical Supervision (for LCSW Supervisors) must be obtained within each renewal period, you cannot carry it forward; and staff does not keep up with unused hours. It is the responsibility of the licensee to keep up with all, including unused hours. Distance/Online hours do NOT carry forward.

QUESTION: Can I attend courses offered by ASWB?

**ANSWER:** Any courses approved by NASW, ASWB, CSWE, or any related Social Work Board will be accepted. More details are outlined in the Rules and Regulations.

### ~~~SUPERVISION QUESTIONS~~~

**QUESTION:** What is the process for applying for supervision?

**ANSWER:** Supervision is for LMSWs who are looking to become licensed at the LCSW level. Please see the 'QUICKSTEP GUIDE FOR LMSW SUPERVISION' under Social Work Licensing Information for details of the steps outlined.